Police IQ by Mike McDaniel

Stately McDaniel Manor

credit: bouldercolorado.gov credit: bouldercolorado.gov

During my early career in law enforcement, I had the odd distinction of having two separate police chiefs in two separate law enforcement agencies in two separate states tell me that I was too intelligent to be a policeman. Readers may debate my intellect, as they often do, but I tell this little morality tale not to pat myself on the back of my brain, but to set up the story that follows. Those hapless police chiefs were giving me a more or less backhanded compliment. They weren’t my fans, yet I was so productive they couldn’t fire me without far more mistakes on my part than ten men could make. Yet, they obviously didn’t realize what they were saying about themselves and their own agencies, nor did they apparently appreciate the inherent irony.

My experience has taught me that police chiefs, sheriffs and politicians in general want…

View original post 774 more words

What Do You Think?

